Midlands Innovation is a significant strategic partnership between eight universities. To succeed it requires the leadership and vision of its partner’s senior leadership. They contribute through their membership of the Midlands Innovation Board and Midlands Innovation Executive Management Group. The remainder of the governance structure for Midlands Innovation draws on the expertise of the professional services and academic community within the partner institutions.

Midlands Innovation Board

The Midlands Innovation Board brings together the eight Vice-Chancellors on a quarterly basis to shape the partnerships' research strategy and guide significant programmes of work.


Midlands Innovation Executive Management Group

The Midlands Innovation Executive Management Group brings together a mixture of Deputy Vice-Chancellors and Pro Vice-Chancellors for Research six times a year to oversee the implementation of the research strategy and delivery of significant programmes.


Research Efficiency Committee

The Midlands Innovation Research Efficiency Committee brings together professional services staff with responsibility for research facilities and senior academics with an interest in research infrastructure. Chaired by a member of the Midlands Innovation Executive Management Group, the committee meets six times a year. It oversees the delivery of activities that promote equipment sharing and activities that promote research collaboration via access to research infrastructure.


Andrew Pitt

Jen Whale


Anthony Jones

Helen Cooper


Tom Stephenson (Chair)

Cecilia Fenech-Brincat


Victoria Macfarlane

Johnathan Wastling

Mike Watkinson


Don Jones

Brian Berry


Scott Doak

Catherine Allford


Joe Shearring

Andrei Khlobystov

Kelly Vere


Ian Hancox

Midlands Innovation Technical Staff Strategy Committee

The Technical Staff Strategy Committee comprises technical managers from across the partnership. The committee meets quarterly to develop activities which will promote the recognition, career development and sustainability of the technical workforce.


Jiteen Ahmed


Antony Jones


Jane Hubble


Paul Cartwright


Gemma Black


Nadine Skinner

Rachael Redford


Susan Woodward

Martin Dellar


Paul Johnson

Energy Research Accelerator (ERA) Management Group

The ERA Management Group, Chaired by a member of the Midlands Innovation Executive Management Group, brings together a small group from across the ERA partnership to manage the delivery of this significant programme.

ERA has a number of other committees which meet to develop research collaborations and operationally manage the programme. It also has a Quarterly Review Meeting with the funder InnovateUK. Details of these committees can be found on the ERA website or by contacting the programme team.

Loughborough University

Steve Rothberg (Chair)

University of Birmingham

Martin Freer

British Geological Survey

Michele Bentham

Midlands Innovation

Helen Turner


Chris Moore

Faye McAnulla